Lazy make up (7.9-13.1km)

Five days in and I’ve already decided to stay in. In my defence it was decidedly cold, think sub-zero, and I had the bins to do, plus it was dark and ultimately I was just plain lazy wasn’t I?

Thursday is usually club run evening which gives me a good opportunity to run with others. It’s the one day of the week I know I can run with my fellow CJ’s and talk tempo, intervals and gel strategy without being met with a glassy stare in return. Perhaps blogging is a surrogate!

Anyway, I did feel bad about missing a regular run so early in my 1000 mission that I ventured out on Friday night. I’ve never been keen about Friday runs. Perhaps it’s the thought that I should be at home with a beer or glass of wine after a hard week in the office. Maybe it’s the fact that everyone else is dashing home to get that beer or glass of wine but road running on a Friday night always seems a bit more fraught with danger as drivers seem in more of a rush. More likely I’m being lazy and looking for excuses.

There was no enthusiasm as I pulled on my shoes, the rain was starting to fall and it’s surely never been that dark ever, anywhere, pre-big bang included. Until I got out of the door, at least. Within ten metres I’d already decided to do the longer short loop by the house, I had a spring in my step and all was right with the world.

The run wasn’t the best by any stretch, the legs were tired and heavy but I never got to the “just one more” stage which I use to drag myself to my destination when I’m struggling. At points I was even tempted to add a kilometre or two.

In the end I took the pragmatic, and perhaps lazy approach, and just did the one five kilometre loop. I hadn’t eaten much and was mindful that I have a long run coming up on Sunday in preparation for the Farnborough half.

Besides, there was a beer in the fridge with my name on it. Sláinte!

2 comments

  1. Consistency is key! Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, it would have been so much easier to stay in but so glad I headed out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

