Adverb anomaly (200.7-208.5km)

Many years ago, far more than I wish to admit, in an English class we were discussing adverbs and were asked to come up with possible adverbs for running. I came up with slowly, which probably means we’d just completed cross-country or something. The teacher frowned and suggested that whilst slowly was an adverb you could use with running it didn’t quite make sense.

I dug up that memory whilst running slowly on my Tuesday club run. I took it easier as I have the Surrey half on Sunday so just wanted to tick over and also took the opportunity to run with some different club members which was a lovely way to catch up.

Looking back on it all, I did run and I did run slowly. Have that English teacher who will never read this!

Leave a Reply

