Lumpy and Runny (335.4-344.0km)

Blimey, that was hard work. As soon as I started out I knew the run would be a struggle but I was determined to get some more hills in. Jurassic Slope was otherwise indisposed due to the filming of Jurassic World II so I went to a shorter slope nearby.

To really punish myself I promised myself ten trips up the hill. Slowly but surely I made my way up. I’ll have to admit to being a bit distracted, work commitments are at the forefront of my mind so I barely noticed heading up the hill on occasions.

That’s not to say it was easy, it was so tough and tempting to just cut my losses but I was determined to complete my goal. When I wasn’t so distracted I managed to concentrate on my foot strike. As an extremely average runner I generally fall into the heel strike club, on upward slopes this means I’m running flat footed and with no opportunity to get some bounce into my stride.

I tried to switch to a toe strike on occasions and found the effort was a little bit easier. I’m not sure if this was because I was concentrating on the strike rather than the real effort. I’ll have to experiment a few more times to be sure.

Another pleasant outcome was that with my larger shoes I had no toe pain during the downhill sections unlike my last run. The extra wriggle room in the shoe and the lacing to ensure my heel doesn’t slip when running seem to have done the trick.

Overall, a tough slow run but with some good learning. I’ll take that right now.

Leave a Reply

